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The Consumer Comes First
Hello, and thank you for reading the Winter 2016 edition of Insurance Matters, the 
Delaware Department of Insurance e-newsletter that provides insurance information 
about matters affecting Delaware’s families and businesses. A new year means a new 
health insurance plan for many people. If you recently enrolled in a plan be sure to check 
your mail for a welcome packet of information from your insurance company. It’s very 
important that you keep these papers in a safe place so that you can refer to them at a later 
date, if necessary. When you’re reviewing the documents, be sure to make note of your 
deductible, co-pays, networks, and if you’ll be responsible for any co-insurance payments. 
If you need help understanding the meaning of the words or terms that the industry uses 
go to http://delawareinsurance.gov/information/words_terms.shtml for definitions.

As we prepare for a busy year ahead I would briefly like to look back at some of the 
accomplishments of the Department over the past year. My top priority is protecting 
consumers and assisting them with their insurance questions and concerns. Two 
years ago I restructured the Consumer Services Unit into three divisions and more 
recently implemented a phone recording system to monitor the quality of my staff ’s 
efforts working with consumers. These changes have improved the effectiveness of 
the Consumer Services Division. Since I was elected insurance commissioner, monies 
recovered for consumers from insurance companies have increased 28 percent. Last 
year alone we helped recover almost $2 million for consumers in Delaware. And all 
of this was accomplished while maintaining the fifth lowest state insurance regulatory 
budget, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

Whether you need help with a simple question or feel that your claim has been wrongly 
denied, the staff of the Department of Insurance is here to serve you. If you’re having 
trouble resolving an issue with an insurance company or an agent, give us a call.

Warm Regards,

Karen
Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

www.delawareinsurance.gov
www.delawareinsurance.gov
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/contact.shtml
http://delawareinsurance.gov/information/words_terms.shtml


Is Your Drone Covered?
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Drones Are a Growing Hobby, Read This Before You Take Flight

The Federal Aviation Administration estimated 
that more than one million drones would be sold 
during the holiday season of 2015. Everyone from 
photographers and farmers to law enforcement and 
hobbyists are taking to the air. As drones become 
more affordable and available, the skies are getting 
crowded. Insurance Commissioner Karen Weldin 
Stewart and the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners advise that personal or commercial 
use of drones raises a number of critical insurance 
issues, ranging from personal injury and property 
damage to privacy concerns.

Drones are defined as remotely piloted aircraft 
systems and are also known as unmanned aircraft 
systems (UAS) or unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). 
According to the Federal Aviation Administration 
(FAA), pilots of unmanned aircrafts have the same 
responsibility to fly safely as manned aircraft pilots. 
In late 2015, the FAA announced that drone owners 
must register their UAVs beginning December 21 
and pay a $5 fee. States and municipalities may have 
their own laws regarding drone use. Before you take 
flight, first check local, state and federal laws. 

Drone Safety: Hobbyists have been flying model 
aircraft for decades. However, advances in technology 
allow drones to hover quietly and fly far from their 
pilot. According to the FAA, there will be 30,000 small 
unmanned UAVs used for business purposes by 2020. 
This number does not include 
drones used by hobbyists.

With some drones weighing up 
to 55 pounds, a fall from the sky 
can cause significant damage 
to property or bystanders. 
The FAA has issued these 
guidelines for drone hobbyists:

• Don’t fly higher than 400 feet 
and stay clear of surrounding 
obstacles.

• Keep the aircraft in sight at all times.

• Stay away from manned aircraft operations. 

• Don’t fly within five miles of an airport unless you 
contact the airport and control tower before flying.

• Avoid flying near people or stadiums.

• Don’t fly an aircraft that weighs more than 55 pounds.

• Use caution when flying your unmanned aircraft.

Insurance for Private Use: Since UAVs are operated 
remotely, there’s no risk to passengers or crew. However, 
drones present a significant risk to property and life 
on the ground in the event of an accident. Drones 
can crash due to faulty and inappropriate operation, 
mechanical defects and component failure. Losses and 
damages could involve bodily injury to humans and 
animals as well as buildings and other structures.

Obtaining insurance for your drone for personal 
use isn’t difficult. Using a private drone as a hobby 
is generally covered under a homeowner’s insurance 
policy (subject to a deductible) which typically covers 
radio-controlled model aircraft. This also applies to a 
renter’s insurance policy. Look at the contents section 
of your policy, or talk to your agent to see if your 
drone will be covered if it is lost, stolen or damaged. 
If your drone falls onto your car, damage to your car 
may be covered if you have a comprehensive coverage 

auto policy.

A larger concern is liability 
for an accident caused by your 
UAV. If your drone crashes 
into a person or someone else’s 
vehicle, the accident is your 
responsibility. If you have a 
homeowners or renter’s policy, 
generally the policy will cover 
liability for an accident caused 
by your drone. Check with 

Story continues on page 8
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Estimated savings on workers’ 
comp premiums, in 2015, by 
Delaware businesses that 
participated in the DOI’s 
Workplace Safety Program.

Employers: Learn how your business could save up to 19% on workers’ compensation insurance premiums 
by participating in the Delaware Workplace Safety Program. Call 302-674-7377 or visit our website, 
http://delawareinsurance.gov/services/workplacesafetydiscount.shtml.

$9+ 
Million

Attention Industry Professionals

This is a message for insurance agents and brokers: All 
resident licensees (individuals and business entities) 
are required to renew by February 29, 2016. Renewal 
notices will no longer be mailed out to the licensees. 
Renewal fees must be paid online at www.nipr.com. 

Fee for renewal is $50.00 for all 
individuals and business entities 
for the following License Types: 
Producer, Adjuster, Public Adjuster, 
Appraiser, Fraternal Producer, and 
Limited Lines Producers. Individual 
Surplus Lines Brokers are required 
to pay a $100.00 fee. The license 
will not be reissued upon renewal. 
You may verify license status and 
print a copy of the license at: www.
delawareinsurance.gov/

Licensing Attachment Warehouse: If a 
licensee answers “Yes” to one or more 
Background Questions, supporting documentation 
may be attached online through NIPR’s Licensing 
Attachment Warehouse at https://pdb.nipr.com/
docMgmt/main.html The Electronic Attachment 

Warehouse eliminates the need to fax or mail the 
supporting documentation. Licensees who are unable 
to use the NIPR Attachment Warehouse website may 
fax the supporting documentation to 302-736-7906.

Address Changes: Individuals may change their 
address online at: www.nipr.com 
Business entities must submit a Form 2C 
(located on our website) and fax to the 
Department.

Cancellation of License: Should you 
choose not to renew, you must notify the 
Department in writing. Please submit a 
signed request in writing and either fax 
or email (licensing@state.de.us) to the 
Department.

Licensees who fail to renew, without 
informing the Department of cancellation, 
will be subject to Administrative Action 
(a fee).

For more information about Producer Licensing in 
Delaware visit http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/
services/renewlicense.shtml

Resident Licensees Must Renew by February 29, 2016

www.delawareinsurance.gov
www.nipr.com
www.nipr.com
http://www.delawareinsurance.gov/departments/licensing/Res_Ind_Bus_Ren_2016_Web_notice.pdf?updated
http://delawareinsurance.gov/services/workplacesafetydiscount.shtml
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Let’s be honest, nobody enjoys paying that hefty  auto 
insurance premium every month (or six months, or 
year, depending on how you pay) but it’s required by law 
so if you want to drive, you must be insured. The state 
requires certain minimum levels of coverage (see our 
Consumer Auto Guide on our website for more info) 
but many people also have additional types of optional 
insurance coverage that provide additional benefits, 
though they obviously come at a price.

If you’re looking for ways to save on your auto insurance 
the most important thing you can do is shop around! 
If you haven’t sought quotes from other insurance 
companies within the past year, we recommend that 
contact at least two other companies for quotes. Be sure 
to get quotes for policies that are exactly the same as 
your current policy so you can make an educated price 

comparison. Don’t assume that just because you’ve been 
insured through one company for many years that they 
will definitely be guaranteeing you the lowest cost policy 
available to you. Don’t overlook smaller or regional 
insurance carriers, many of which have higher customer 
satisfaction scores than the biggest companies. 

 • Always ask about discounts. We can’t emphasize 
this enough. Again, we encourage you to read our Auto 
Guide (page 9) to learn about potential discounts.

 • Research insurance costs before you buy a car. Call 
your company for quotes on two or three models you’re 
considering. You may be surprised at how much the 
premiums can vary among cars that seems pretty similar.

 • Consider raising your deductible. Keep in mind that 
you’ll pay more out-of-pocket if you do make a claim.

Classic Tips for Ways to Lower Your Auto Insurance Premium

Have you ever witnessed an accident but weren’t really 
sure what to do or how you could help out? With the 
proper knowledge you have the potential to save a life.

Step 1: If you witness an accident occur, pull over in a 
safe place that’s a good distance from the scene of the 
accident. You don’t want to be in the way if a police car 
or ambulance arrives. Call 911 to report the accident 
and be prepared to give some basic information to 
the 911 operator.  They will   probably ask for details 
like the location, number of people 
involved, severity of the crash, etc.

Step 2: Check on the occupants of 
the cars. If the scene is unsafe you 
should not approach the cars. Ask 
the victims if they are ok, or if you 
can help them with anything until 
the police or ambulance arrive.   

Unless there is a risk that a vehicle is going to catch 
fire, do not move any injured victims. Tell them to 
remain in place until trained medical professionals 
arrive on the scene. 

Step 3:  If the damage is relatively minor and the 
people in the cars are ok, try to move vehicles out of 
the road. If the vehicles can’t be moved, put out flares 
or traffic triangles to help alert oncoming traffic. 

Step 4: Remain on the scene 
until the police arrive. Provide a 
statement to the police as well as 
your contact information. Be aware 
that you may be called as a witness 
by legal or medical authorities and/
or insurance claim agents. Try to 
keep statements consistent and 
always factual.

What Should You Do if You Witness a Car Wreck?
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Are You Utilizing Your Preventive Health Services?
Most health insurance plans (all ACA-approved plans)
must now cover a set of preventive services — like shots 
and screening tests — at no cost to you. This includes 
all plans purchased through the Health Insurance 
Marketplace (Healthcare.gov).  These services are free 
only when delivered by a doctor or other provider in 
your plan’s network. These preventive services do not 
require you to pay a copayment or coinsurance,  even if 
you haven’t met your yearly deductible. These services 
are not covered under limited benefit plans.

To view the complete lists of covered preventive services 
for adults, women and children, please visit www.
healthcare.gov/coverage/preventive-care-benefits/. 

Below is a partial list of covered preventive services for 
adults: 

•Abdominal aortic aneurysm one-
time screening

•Alcohol misuse screening and 
counseling

• Aspirin use to prevent cardiovascular 
disease for men and women of certain 
ages

•Blood pressure screening

•Cholesterol screening for adults of certain ages or at 
higher risk

•Colorectal cancer screening for adults over 50

•Depression screening

•Diabetes (Type 2) screening for adults with high blood 
pressure

•Diet counseling for adults at higher risk

•Hepatitis B screening for people at high risk

•Hepatitis C screening for adults at increased risk, and 
one time for everyone born 1945 – 1965

•HIV screening for everyone ages 15 to 65, and other 
ages at increased risk

•Immunization vaccines for adults

•Lung cancer screening for adults 55 - 80 at high risk 

•Obesity screening and counseling

•Sexually transmitted infection (STI) 
prevention counseling for adults at 
higher risk

•Syphilis screening for adults at 
higher risk

•Tobacco Use screening, cessation 
interventions for tobacco users

Commissioner Stewart Fines Highmark BCBSD and Aetna $483,000
Insurance Commissioner Karen Weldin Stewart 
announced on January 11, 2016, that she has fined 
Highmark BlueCross BlueShield Delaware $383,000 
for numerous violations, including failure to pay 
policyholder claims in a timely fashion.

Commissioner Stewart has also fined Aetna, Inc. 
$100,000 for failing to pay policyholder claims in a 

timely fashion and for charging excessive copays, among 
other violations. The fines resulted from routine market 
conduct examinations of each insurer performed by 
Insurance Department examiners.

A copy of the Stipulation and Consent Order and the 
Market Conduct Exam Report for each matter may be 
found at www.delawareinsurance.gov/

https://www.healthcare.gov/coverage/preventive-care-benefits/
www.delawareinsurance.gov
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For Your Information
Shopping for a New Car? 
See IIHS Top Safety Picks

Check for Recalls on Your 
Vehicle by VIN, Online

Nearly 50 vehicles meet tougher criteria for 2016 
to take home the Insurance Institute for Highway 
Safety’s TOP SAFETY PICK+ award, earning 
good ratings in all five IIHS crashworthiness 
evaluations and an advanced or higher rating 
for front crash prevention. An additional 
13 models qualify for TOP SAFETY PICK. 
 
The baseline requirements for both awards 
are good ratings in the small overlap front, 
moderate overlap front, side, roof strength and 
head restraint tests, as well as a standard or 
optional front crash prevention system. The 48 
winners of the “plus” award have a superior- or 
advanced-rated front crash prevention system 
with automatic braking capabilities. 

To learn more about the safety test and to  
view the list of cars, visit www.IIHS.org.

Takata Airbag Recall Update

More vehicles continue to be 
added to the recall list. Search 
for your vehicle by year, make 

and model, or search by VIN at 
www.safercar.gov

Do You Have a Winter 
Emergency Kit for Your Car?
You should have an emergency kit at home (you 
do, right?) but it’s also highly recommended 
that you also have some emergency supplies in 
your car, too. The thing about emergencies is 
that they’re usually unplanned. That’s why you 
need to be prepared ahead of time. 

Consider some of the following items for your 
car’s winter emergency kit:
• Small shovel and cat litter for use in the snow

• Flashlight		  • Snacks and water

• First-aid kit		  • Blanket

• Tow chain or rope	 • Jumper cables

• Emergency flares	 • Windshield scraper

• Extra hats, gloves	 • Important medications

Need Help With An 
Insurance Issue? Call Us!

The Department of Insurance 
is here to help you if you’re 

having an issue you can’t 
resolve with your insurance 
company or agent/broker. 

Call our Consumer Services 
Division at 1-800-282-8611 

www.delawareinsurance.gov
www.safercar.gov
www.iihs.org
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Captive Insurance
Stewart Receives National Recognition as Insurance Pioneer

Influential trade publication Captive Review magazine 
has named Insurance Commissioner Karen Weldin 
Stewart to its first Enterprise Risk Captive Pioneers list, 
recognizing 20 of the “key influencers” in the United 
States’ smaller captive industry.

Captive Review said “Commissioner Stewart has been 
the driving force behind Delaware’s rapidly growing 
captive industry and has taken a strong interest in the 
facilitation of captives for small and medium-sized 
businesses.” These captive entities, known as Enterprise 
Risk Captives (ERCs), have played a significant role 
in Delaware’s captive growth. In July 2009, when 
Commissioner formed the Bureau of Captive and 
Financial Insurance Products, Delaware only had 
38 captive insurers. In a little more than five years, 
Delaware became one of world’s preeminent captive 
insurance domiciles, in large part by providing ERCs 
a captive insurance domicile that has knowledgeable 
regulators and laws that encourage the formation of 
captive insurers.

“I’m honored to be included on this list of small captive 
insurance industry trailblazers,” said Commissioner 
Stewart. “When I first became Commissioner, I was 
determined to grow our captive program. Of course, 

my hard-working captive division staff has really 
gotten down in the trenches and worked with our 
ERCs to make sure they make use of all the advantages 
Delaware’s favorable business climate provides. And my 
captive director Steve Kinion especially has become a 
respected champion for small market captives.”

Captive insurance companies are owned by the entities 
they insure, and are formed by businesses who wish to 
manage more efficiently the cost and administration of 
their own risk. Delaware updated its laws regarding the 
formation of captives in 2005, and consequently became 
a preferred domicile for the growing number of captive 
insurance companies being created by companies 
worldwide.  Today Delaware is the world’s sixth largest 
and the third largest U.S. captive domicile.  Delaware’s 
sophisticated corporate laws, financial infrastructure 
and respected judiciary make it the preeminent 
jurisdiction for business. These benefits are extended 
to captive insurance companies through Delaware’s 
Bureau of Captive and Financial Insurance

For more information, please visit 
 captive.delawareinsurance.gov

The Captive Review article is here: captivereview.com/
news/revealed-the-2015-captive-review-erc-pioneers

Insurance Commissioner Karen Weldin Stewart is 
pleased to announce that Steve Kinion, Director of the 
Delaware Insurance Department’s Bureau of Captive 
and Financial Insurance Products, has been named as 
one of the four most influential people in the captive 
insurance industry.  The February 2016 issue of Captive 
Review magazine lists Kinion as number four on its 
global list of the “Power 50 in 2015” list. Kinion was 
also in the top four in 2014.

“The recognition of Steve for two consecutive years is 
further evidence of the continuing success of Delaware’s 
captive insurance program,” said Commissioner Stewart. 

“The people of Delaware thank Steve and his team for 
creating an environment that fosters sophisticated 
alternative risk transactions.”

Announcing the 2015 rankings, Captive Review 
observed: “A true warrior of the industry and unafraid 
to make his voice heard, Kinion can be relied upon 
to spot any legislative or NAIC [National Association 
of Insurance Commissioners] action that could 
compromise the position of strength of captives in 
America’s booming captive sector.”

Kinion Among Top Four Influential Figures in Global Captive Insurance

captive.delawareinsurance.gov
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Insurance News

your agent or insurer to verify your policy contains 
this important coverage.

Privacy Concerns: You may be excited to obtain a 
drone for your own use, but how would you feel 
about your neighbors owning and operating drones 
near your home? Privacy is a legitimate concern 
when it comes to drone use.

UAVs are often equipped with on-board cameras 
and other data-collection capabilities which can 
pose a threat to privacy. Drones may capture 
private data that could be harmful or embarrassing 
if shared. Beyond intentional surveillance, drones 
may also unintentionally capture images during 
routine and unrelated flights. As a drone owner, 
remain mindful of privacy concerns. Insurers 
are developing policies to cover these liability 
exposures, so keep in touch with your insurer to 
make sure your use remains covered.

Commercial Drone Use: Currently, the commercial 
use of UAVs is largely restricted and operations 
are authorized on a case by case basis. The FAA 
has started regulating commercial drones with 
proposed rules such as requiring pilots to obtain 

special pilot certificates, keeping drones away from 
bystanders, and restricting when and where they 
can fly. The proposed rules also prohibit drone 
delivery of packages. Since final rules have not been 
implemented, they are not being enforced.

Future of Drone Insurance: Widespread use of 
drones—private and commercial—poses various 
risks, ranging from safety to privacy of individuals. 
Risks arising from the use of drones could best be 
managed by property and casualty insurers, but 
only after defined drone operational requirements 
and performance standards are in place. Complete 
and clear drone regulation, by the states and 
the FAA, is necessary before insurers can meet 
policyholder needs.

Registration of drones will allow authorities to trace 
a drone back to an owner, which means it’s vital that 
you’re in compliance with laws and regulations and 
have the appropriate insurance coverage.

To learn more about the FAA’s rules, and to 
reigsiter your drone, visit http://www.faa.gov/uas/
registration/.

Is Your Drone Covered?, Continued from page 2 

$1.9 Million

In FY2015, the 
Consumer Services 

Division helped 
consumers in Delaware 

recover more than 

In FY2015, the Delaware 
Medicare Assistance Bureau 
(DMAB) assisted more than 

7,000 Medicare beneficiaries; 
helped them save nearly 

$840,000 through partnership 
with Del. Medicaid & Medical 
Assistance (DMMA) program.

www.faa.gov/uas/registration
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Ask the Commissioner
Question: I have a beach house that I’m considering renting out through 
a service like Airbnb. Over the years I have heard some horror stories 
about guests destroying rental homes but apparently these home 
sharing companies have since added better insurance protection for 
the homeowners. If I do end up renting out my home, is the insurance  
coverage from Airbnb enough to cover me if a guest “destroys” my home? 

Answer: In the world of insurance, the answer is often “it depends 
on the circumstances.” I wish there was a simple answer but sadly 
there isn’t. First of all, don’t assume that your standard homeowners 
insurance is going to provide any protection to you from guests. Most 
residential insurers will consider renting your home out through a 
service (like Airbnb) to be a business and likely require you to purchase 
a commercial insurance policy for business operations.

Airbnb offers a type of Host Guarantee “coverage” (at no additional 
charge) with a limit of $1 million for property damage. However, there 
are many exclusions, so don’t assume everything is covered. 

In January 2015, Airbnb introduced Host Protection Insurance (HPI). 
This insurance is described as “coverage of up to $1,000,000 per 
incident for Airbnb hosts in the US...if a guest is accidentally injured 
anywhere in a host’s building or property during a stay.”

That description and the program summary leave the host with more 
questions than answers. A few gaps to note are:

• With Airbnb coverage is limited to $1 million per occurrence; $2 
million per location. Each homesharing company has its own policies 
in place with their own limitations, so be sure to read the fine print. 

• Coverage is in excess of any other available coverage. The host must 
submit the claim to his Homeowners insurance and the claim must be 
denied by that company before Airbnb’s insurance will pay. Presumably, 
the Homeowners insurance may also be cancelled for business use.

• The coverage is limited to an actual stay, not a booking. Worth 
noting: guests who overstay or arrive early—that time is not covered. 

These are just a few of the concerns of relying solely on the insurance 
coverage provided for free from Airbnb. Before you offer your home 
for rent through any service we recommend that you have a discussion 
with your insurance agent to review your current homeowners policy. 
You should also thoroughly read the terms of service that you are 
agreeing to when you sign up for the rental service. If you don’t 
understand the terms of service, don’t sign up until you know what 
you’re in for.

Contact the Delaware
Department of Insurance

841 Silver Lake Blvd.
Dover, DE 19904 

www.delawareinsurance.gov

consumer@state.de.us

Consumer Services: 1-800-282-8611

DMAB: 1-800-336-9500

Fraud: 1-800-632-5154

Dover Office Main Line: 302-674-7300

www.delawareinsurance.gov

