Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML Delaware Department of Insurance

Commissioner

CAPTIVE INSURANCE BULLETIN NO. 3

TO: All Captive Managers, Auditors, and Actuaries Accredited in Delaware, and
all Members of the Delaware Captive Insurance Association

RE: Formation Fee for Series Business Unit (SBU)

DATE: June 26, 2014

IMPORTANT

CAPIVE BULLETIN NO. 3 SUPERSEDES CAPTIVE BULLETIN NO. 2 UPON
ITS EFFECTIVE DATE.

Under Delaware law a captive insurance company' may be licensed so that it may form
series in order to take advantage of the Delaware Limited Liability Company Act® or the
Delaware Statutory Trust Act’ These series qualify to assume risk and are named by this
Department as Series Business Units (SBU). Under the authority of 18 Del.C. § 6903(d), the
Delaware Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”) will begin levying an application fee of
$200 (Two Hundred Dollars) and an application processing fee of $3,000 (Three Thousand
Dollars) upon the captive insurance company for each SBU application received on or after the
effective date of this bulletin. The Commissioner reserves the right to impose any additional fees
upon the captive insurance company for any additional costs the Commissioner reasonably
incurs when reviewing the application.

Nothing in this bulletin should be interpreted to excuse a captive insurance company
from any other fee or tax currently applied under Delaware law.

This bulletin will take effect on September 1, 2014, unless withdrawn or superseded by
subsequent law, regulation or bulletin.

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

''18 Del. C. § 6902(7).
2 6 Del. C. § 18-101 et seq.
312 Del. C. § 3810 et seq.
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