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Under Delaware law a captive insurance company' may be licensed so that it may form
series in order to take advantage of the Delaware Limited Liability Company Act® or Delaware
Statutory Trust Act.® These series qualify to assume risk and are named by this Department as
Series Business Units (SBU). Under the authority of 18 Del.C. § 6903(d), the Delaware
Insurance Commissioner (“Commissioner”) will begin levying a fee of $1,800 (One Thousand
Eight Hundred Dollars) upon the captive insurance company for each SBU formed on or after
the effective date of this bulletin whose premium for each of the first five years of operation, as
stated in the application submitted to the Department, is less than $1,400,000 (One Million Four
Hundred Thousand Dollars). For any SBU formed on or after the effective date of this bulletin
whose premium for any of the first five years of operation exceeds or is equal to $1,400,000, the
fee will be $3,000 (Three Thousand Dollars). The Commissioner reserves the right to impose
any additional fees upon the captive insurance company for any additional costs the
Commissioner reasonably incurs when reviewing the application.

Nothing in this bulletin should be interpreted to excuse a captive insurance company
from any other fee or tax currently applied under Delaware law.

This Bulletin shall be effective immediately.

Karen Weldin Stewart, CIR-ML
Insurance Commissioner

'18 Del. C. § 6902(9).
26 Del. C. § 18-101 et seq.
312 Del. C. § 3810 et seq.
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