
 
 

MEMORANDUM 
 

TO:  Premium Tax Specialists -- All Domestic, Foreign, Title, and Alien  Companies  
Authorized to Conduct Insurance Business in the State of Delaware 

 
FROM:  Ann Fletcher, Tax Coordinator 
 
DATE:    December 2007 
 
SUBJECT: Annual Premium Tax and Fees Filing Procedures 
 
In accordance with Title 18, Delaware Code, §702(a) and §707(a), a premium tax of two percent (2%) is due for 
risks located in the State of Delaware.  The attached Annual Premium Tax and Fees Report Forms (Working 
Forms T-1 through T-8) should be completed and returned as instructed and accompanied by a check payable to 
“Delaware Insurance Department” (if applicable). The Insurance Department accepts computer generated 
premium tax forms, but the forms must conform exactly to the forms included in this package. The forms and 
check must be received on or before March 1, 2008 at the bank address indicated in the instructions.   
 
Please note:  Delaware uses a received by date, not a postmark date.  
 
DO NOT SEND THE PREMIUM TAX FILING OR CHECK WITH YOUR ANNUAL STATEMENT.  Although the 
Annual Statement filing fee and the continuation fee for Certificate of Authority are paid along with premium taxes, 
the annual statements are received at a different section of the Insurance Department.  If you send your tax forms 
and check in the annual statement, the filing may not reach the tax department and the company could be subject 
to a late penalty. 

 
NOTICE REGARDING GUARANTY FUND CREDITS:   
There are no companies that have any guaranty fund premium tax offsets available to apply to calendar year 
2007 annual premium tax. 
 
It is the position of the Delaware Insurance Department that only payments to the Delaware Insurance Guaranty 
Association or the Delaware Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association for Class “C” assessments are 
permitted to be applied as premium tax offsets.  Payments for Class “A” and Class “B” assessments may not be 
applied as premium tax offsets. 
 
No Class “C” assessment has been paid by any company since before calendar year 2001, therefore all available 
premium tax offsets for guaranty fund assessment payments have expired. 
 

 
PLEASE FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS ON THE FOLLOWING PAGES CAREFULLY. 

QUESTIONS should be directed via email to my attention at Ann.Fletcher@state.de.us. 
 

 
 



DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
PREMIUM TAX AND FEES REPORT FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2007, DUE MARCH 1, 2008 

INSTRUCTIONS AND TAX FORMS PACKAGE 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

In accordance with Title 18, Delaware Insurance Code, Sections 702(a) and 707(a), a premium tax of two percent (2%) is due for risks located in the 
State of Delaware [1.75% per § 702 plus .25% per § 707].  This Annual Premium Tax and Fees Report should be completed and returned as instructed. 
 

MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO “Delaware Insurance Department”.  Forms and checks must be received on or before March 1, 2008.   
 

ENTER ALL AMOUNTS AS WHOLE DOLLARS.  Cents should be rounded to the nearest whole dollar.  Cents equal to or greater than fifty (~ $0.50) 
should be rounded up to the next whole dollar.  Cents equal to or less than forty-nine (~ $0.49) should be rounded down to the previous whole dollar. 
 

QUESTIONS:  Any questions or correspondence regarding premium taxes, fees, or required reports should be directed to:   
Ann Fletcher, Tax Coordinator, via e-mail: Ann.Fletcher@state.de.us 
 

 

MAILING INSTRUCTIONS 
 

The Delaware Department of Insurance has established a lockbox operation for the receipt of premium tax payments and related documents.  All premium tax reports 
and checks (if applicable) should be sent to one of the bank addresses listed below.  The Forms and remittances must be received on or before March 1, 2008.  Forms 
received after this date, or considered incomplete, shall be deemed late, and the insurer may be subject to an administrative penalty of $100.00 per business day until a 
complete filing is received.  Please Note: Delaware uses a “received by” date, not a postmark date.   

  

If using U.S. Postal Service (regular mail): 
Delaware Insurance Department 

c/o National City Bank 
6705 Reliable Parkway 

Chicago, IL 60686 
 

Note: this is a PO Box – no personnel are present to accept deliveries. 

If using Courier or Express Service (FedEx, UPS, etc.): 
Delaware Insurance Department 

c/o National City Bank 
Attention: Lockbox # 6705 

5635 S. Archer Ave. 
Chicago, IL  60638-1656 

 
 

DO NOT SEND PREMIUM TAX DOCUMENTS OR CHECK WITH THE ANNUAL STATEMENT FILING 
Although the Annual Statement filing fee and the continuation fee for the Certificate of Authority are paid along with the premium taxes, the annual 
statements are received at a different section of the Insurance Department.  If tax forms and checks are enclosed in the annual statement, the filing may 
not reach the tax department in a timely manner, and the company will be subject to the administrative penalty for late and/or incomplete filing. 
 
 

DELAWARE INSURANCE FRAUD PREVENTION BUREAU INFORMATION 
 

The Delaware Insurance Code (18 Del. C., Chapter 24) establishes within the Insurance Department the Delaware Insurance Fraud Prevention Bureau 
to “confront aggressively the problem of insurance fraud in the State of Delaware by facilitating the detection of insurance fraud, reducing the occurrence 
of such fraud through administrative enforcement and deterrence, requiring the restitution of fraudulently obtained insurance benefits, and reducing the 
amount of premium dollars used to pay fraudulent claims”. (§2402)   
 

In accordance with 18 Del. C.,  §2404 (d), a special revolving fund designated as the Delaware Insurance Fraud Auxiliary Fund has been created within 
the Bureau to be used by the Bureau in the performance of the various functions and duties required of the Bureau by law.  18 Del. C., §2415, further 
provides that the cost of administration and operation of the Bureau shall be borne by all of the insurance companies admitted or authorized to transact 
the business of insurance in this State.  The Commissioner is required to assess $550.00 annually against each insurance company to provide the funds 
necessary for the operation of the Bureau.   
 

These funds are collected by the Insurance Department on behalf of the Bureau and are deposited into the Delaware Insurance Fraud Auxiliary Fund.  
Due to the separate nature of this special fund, the Delaware Insurance Department considers the Fraud Prevention Bureau Fee to be a Special 
Purpose Assessment and therefore does not allow the fee amount paid to the State of Delaware to be included in retaliatory tax calculation. 
 

FOREIGN INSURERS’ RETALIATORY PROVISION 
 

The Delaware Insurance Code (18 Del. C., §532) requires the Commissioner to impose upon all insurers domiciled in another state or foreign country 
those same taxes, licenses, and other fees of any kind that would be imposed on a Delaware domiciled insurer writing similar lines and volumes of 
business in said state or country.  If that aggregate sum is in excess to the taxes, licenses, and fees, in the aggregate of Delaware, the difference must 
be paid to Delaware in the form of a retaliatory tax.  Include finance and service charges. 
 

Any tax, license, or other fee imposed by any city, county, or other political subdivision or agency of the home state shall be deemed to be imposed by 
that state.  NOTE:  Alien insurers shall use their port-of-entry state for determining retaliatory tax. 
 

IMPORTANT:  In accordance with Delaware Department of Insurance Bulletin No. 7, issued November 6, 2000, the method of calculating retaliatory 
taxes and fees has been changed to remove credits for Guaranty Fund payments from both the Delaware basis and Home State basis calculations on 
Form T-3.  Credits for Guaranty Fund payments will no longer be factored into retaliatory taxes.  Retaliatory tax is to be calculated on a gross written 
basis as described in 18 Del. C., §702. 



 

 

CONTENTS AND GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
(References are to Title 18, Delaware Insurance Code) 
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TAX DEPARTMENT MAILING ADDRESS AND COMPANY INFORMATION:  Complete all lines.  Indicate the address and contact person where TAX 
related correspondence should be sent. (i.e. may differ from Home Office, etc.) Important: If any mailing address or company information changed 
during the year, the Historical Information Section on page 4 must be completed.   
 

Form T-1, PREMIUM TAX SUMMARY FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2007:  Complete as instructed.  Data must equal amounts reported on State Page of 
Annual Statement.  A copy of State Page must be attached. Report gross direct premium written, including finance charges and service fees, minus 
returned premiums on canceled policies (but not including the return of cash surrender values of life insurance policies), unabsorbed portion of any 
deposit premium, and dividends and similar amounts returned to policyholders, whether paid in cash or credited or applied in reduction of premiums; 
EXCEPT do not deduct dividends and similar returns from Worker’s Compensation premiums. 
 

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO HEALTH INSURERS:  Companies filing the Health Blank annual statement must attach the Exhibit of Premiums, Enrollment 
and Utilization, and Schedule T.  Premium reported on Form T-1 must match Line 12, Health Premiums Written and the amount reported on Schedule T.  
 

MEDICARE TITLE XVIII PRESCRIPTION DRUG PLAN (MPDP) PREMIUMS ARE TAX EXEMPT.   However the premium amounts must still be 
reported to the Department.  Indicate all Accident and Health premiums on Line 2 (including MPDP premiums).  Indicate the amount of MPDP premiums 
written on Line 2a and subtract that amount to get the Net taxable Accident and Health Premiums.  Enter that amount on Line 2b. 
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Form T-2, DOMESTIC INSURERS ONLY – PRIVILEGE TAX:  In accordance with 18 Del. C., §703, all insurers domiciled in the state of Delaware shall 
be subject to this additional annual tax.  NOTE: Any company that is/was a Delaware domestic company for the whole or any part of the current 
tax year is considered subject to this tax.  This is an annual tax based on the gross receipts of the prior year; Delaware law does not provide for 
prorating this tax. 
 
Form T-3, FOREIGN INSURERS ONLY – RETALIATORY TAX AND FEES:  Complete as instructed.  The Delaware Insurance Code (18 Del. C., §532) 
requires the Commissioner to impose upon all insurers domiciled in another state or foreign country those same taxes, licenses, and other fees of any 
kind that would be imposed on a Delaware domiciled insurer writing similar lines and volumes of business in said state or country.  If that aggregate sum 
is in excess to the taxes, licenses, and fees, in the aggregate of Delaware, the difference must be paid to Delaware in the form of a retaliatory tax.  
Include finance and service charges. 
 

Any tax, license, or other fee imposed by any city, county, or other political subdivision or agency of the home state shall be deemed to be imposed by 
that state.  NOTE:  Alien insurers shall use their port-of-entry state for determining retaliatory tax. 
 

IMPORTANT:  In accordance with Delaware Department of Insurance Bulletin No. 7, issued November 6, 2000, the method of calculating retaliatory 
taxes and fees has been changed to remove credits for Guaranty Fund payments from both the Delaware basis and Home State basis calculations.  
Credits for Guaranty Fund payments will no longer be factored into retaliatory taxes.  Retaliatory tax is to be calculated on a gross written basis as 
described in 18 Del. C., §702. 
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STATE SUPPORT OF VOLUNTEER FIRE COMPANIES, AMBULANCE AND RESCUE ORGANIZATIONS:  As with all forms in this tax report, the 
President and Secretary (or other signing officers) verify its accuracy and completeness.  Schedule T must be attached. 
 

Form T-5, PARTS I and II -- In accordance with 18 Del. C., §705(a) each company receiving premiums for risks or loss in Delaware under the lines of 
business listed on Form T-5 above, is to complete this section.  The State of Delaware uses this information to determine the amount of financial support 
volunteer fire companies will receive from the State.   
 

Form T-6 -- In accordance with 18 Del. C., §713, each company receiving premiums for life, accident or health insurance coverage of all types in 
Delaware is to complete this section.  The State of Delaware uses this information to determine the amount of financial support that nonprofit 
organizations that provide ambulance and rescue services will receive from the State.   
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Form T-7, TRAVELINK PROGRAM TAX CREDIT FORM:  Must participate in the Delaware Department of Transportation Certified Travelink Program 
for at least 30 days of the tax year.   Attach participation documentation. 
 

EMPLOYER OWNED/TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE Form T-8 SUMMARY:  Only companies writing this type of business should complete Form 
T-8 and this Summary. 
 

COMPANY HISTORICAL INFORMATION:  Complete all applicable sections ONLY if there was a change during calendar year 2007.  If there were no 
changes during the year, it is not necessary to complete this section. 
 

AFFIDAVIT:  ALL COMPANIES MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION.  If company President and/or Secretary is not available, the report must be signed 
by another responsible officer, duly administered by a person authorized to administer oaths.  Indicate the reason as instructed. 
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Form T-8 -- EMPLOYER OWNED/TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE 
Only companies writing this type of business should complete and return this page.  ALL OTHER COMPANIES – DO NOT RETURN THIS PAGE.



 

 

 

FORM T-1 
PREMIUM TAX SUMMARY  

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 

LINES 1, 2 & 3     (18 Del. C., §702 (a) (b)) 
 

List Gross Direct Premium Income*, including all policy membership and other fees and assessments and all other considerations for insurance received on account of 
insurance contracts (other than as to Worker’s Compensation and Employer’s Liability, Wet Marine and Transportation insurance, and Annuity contracts) covering 
property, subjects, or risks located, resident, or to be performed in Delaware, and including proper proportionate allocation of premiums under policies covering 
persons, property, subjects, or risks located or resident, or to be performed in more than one state. 
 

* Determined by deducting from the total of direct premium income (1) the amount of returned premiums on canceled policies (but not including the return of cash 
surrender values of life insurance policies), (2) the unabsorbed portion of any deposit premium, and (3) the amount returned to policyholders as dividends and similar 
returns, whether paid in cash or credited or applied in reduction of premiums. NOTE:  These are the only deductions that may be applied to direct premiums. 
 

Domestic Insurers are also to include Gross Direct Premium Income and other considerations for insurance (other than as to Worker’s Compensation and Employer’s 
Liability, Wet Marine and Transportation insurance, and Annuity contracts) received by it upon insurance business written pursuant to solicitation of business by mail 
directed to persons located in a state or province of Canada in which the insurer is not admitted to transact insurance and on which a premium tax is not paid or a 
surplus lines tax is not paid to such state or province. 

 

NOTE:   DO NOT INCLUDE PREMIUMS GENERATED BY EMPLOYER / TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES (also known as “C.O.L.I.”; “B.O.L.I.”; etc.)  
IN THE AMOUNT LISTED ON PAGE 1, LINE 1 FOR LIFE PREMIUMS.  TAX ON EMPLOYER / TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUMS IS CALCULATED 
ON FORM T-8 AND THE TOTAL TAX AMOUNT IS LISTED ON PAGE 1, LINE 13.   (See Line 13 instructions below) 
 

LINE 4  List gross direct premium income for all Worker’s Compensation and Employer’s Liability premiums received, whether in cash or notes in this 
State, or on account of business done in this State, or on account of premiums for compensation payable to this State after deducting from this 
total (1) all canceled or returned premiums actually refunded during the year on such insurance and (2) premiums on reinsurance received from 
other insurance carriers, except that mutual insurance companies shall be taxed upon the gross premium charged and collected and shall not 
be credited with unabsorbed premiums or dividends.   

   

  NOTE:  Return premiums on canceled policies actually refunded during the year and reinsurance premiums received from other insurance 
carriers are the only deductions that may be taken from Worker’s Compensation and Employer’s Liability premiums. 
Do not deduct the amount returned to policyholders as dividends and similar returns, whether paid in cash or credited or applied in 
reduction of premiums as stated in directions for Lines 1, 2, and 3 above.   (18 Del. C., §704; see also Title 19, §2391). 

   

LINE 5  “TOTAL All Gross Direct Premium Income” – Sum Lines 1, 2, 3 & 4.  If “0”, or less than “0”, enter “0”. 
   

LINE 6  Tax Rate – (1 ¾ % per §702 plus ¼ % per §707). 
   

LINE 7  “TOTAL Premium Tax Due” – Total gross direct premium income -X- tax rate.  If “0”, or less than “0”, enter “0”. 
          Fraternal Benefit Societies enter “0”  (see 18 Del. C., §6224 regarding exemption). 

   

LINES 8 & 9  “Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit” – Credits for assessments paid to Life and Health (§4413 (a)) and/or Property and Casualty (§4219 (b)) 
Insurance Guaranty Funds.  Credits may only be taken for Class “C” type assessments.  Credits taken may not exceed total premium tax due 
(per Line 7) nor be carried over to another year.  Take figure from Notice of Guaranty Fund Assessment Premium Tax Offset Allowance. Eligible 
companies will receive the Notice by mail. Only those Active companies with Guaranty Fund Assessment credits available receive the Notice. 

  IMPORTANT: If your company did not receive a Notice and company records contain Certificates of Contribution for Class C assessments paid, 
contact Ann Fletcher at Ann.Fletcher@state.de.us for more information.  NOTE: Class A and Class B assessments may not be applied as tax credits. 

   

LINE 10  “Net Premium Tax Due” – If “0”, or less than “0”, enter “0”.  TAX LIABILITY MAY NOT BE REDUCED TO LESS THAN ZERO. 
   

LINE 11  “Domestic Insurer’s Privilege Tax” – take figure from Page 2, PART II, Line 7.  (§703). If applicable 
   

LINE 12  “Retaliatory Taxes And Fees” – take figure from Page 2, Line 18.  (§532 (a)).  If applicable            Please see General Information on Page 1. 
   

LINE 13  “Employer/Trust Owned Life Insurance Premium Tax” -- take figure from Line 4 on Page 4, Form T-8 Summary.  (§702 (c)(2)). 
   

LINE 14  “Continuation Fees” – (§701 (21b) & (21c)) and (§701 (1c) & (3) as amended by House Bill No. 225, passed/effective July 1, 2001).  
   (a) Certificate of Authority Renewal $100.00 All Authorized Insurers.  
         Annual Renewal Fee $50.00 Risk Retention Groups  (RRGs) ONLY 
   (b) Annual Statement Filing fee $100.00 ALL Insurers – including RRGs 
   

LINE 15  “Fraud Prevention Bureau Annual Assessment” – (§2404 (a) & (d)) and (§2415)).  RRGs enter “0”.  All other companies enter $550.00  
   

  NOTE:  Funds collected by the Delaware Insurance Department on behalf of the Delaware Insurance Fraud Prevention Bureau are deposited 
into a special revolving fund designated as the Delaware Insurance Fraud Auxiliary Fund.            Please see General Information on Page 1. 

   

LINE 16  “Travelink Traffic Mitigation Act Credit” – take from Form T-7.  Companies claiming a credit MUST attach documentation from the Delaware 
Department of Transportation verifying participation in a Department certified program as set forth in Title 30, Del. C., §2030 ET SEQ. 

   

LINE 17  “Total Tax And Fees Owed” – Sum Lines 10 through 16. 
   

LINE 18  “Quarterly Premium Tax Prepayments” – List amount paid for each of the four quarterly prepayments; subtract the total on  
Line 17 (e) from Line 16.  (§702 (d)). 

   

LINE 19  “Balance Due” – Payment for this amount MUST be attached or electronically transmitted via ACH Credit.   (§710 (a)). 
   

LINE 20  “Refund” – amount of overpayment.  The Insurance Department will issue a refund check to the company.  DO NOT apply refund amount to any 
future premium tax liabilities (ex: April 15 first quarter payment).   (§711). 



 

 

FORM T-8 
EMPLOYER OWNED/TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE 
(Also Known As “COLI” and/or “BOLI”, etc. Premiums) 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 

According to 18 Del. C., §702 (a), all companies writing Employer (Corporate) Owned or Trust Owned Life Insurance (also 
known variously as “COLI” and/or “BOLI”, etc.) as defined in 18 Del. C., §2704, are required to report these life premiums 
separately on this Form.  In addition, the summary totals from ALL cases must be reported on the Summary Report. 

 
 

Line 1:  List the Case Name and Case Number.  It is important that the same Case Name and Case Number be used for any specific case that 
continues from one filing year to the next due to the special provision in 18 Del. C., §702 (c)(2).  (See NOTE below) 

   

Line 2:  List nationwide Total Premium for the individual Case.    
   

Line 3:  List Net Premium for risks located within Delaware.   
   

Line 4:  List Net Premium for risks resident or located outside Delaware for which premium tax is not paid to the state of residence or location.   
   

Line 5:  List Total Delaware Net Premium Amount generated for each Employer/Trust Owned Life Insurance Case as defined in 18 Del. C., §2407.   
   

Line 6:  The Total Tax Due This Case amount is the SUM of the amounts listed in the Tax Calculation Section. 
   
   

In the Tax Calculation section, break down the Total Delaware Premium Amount from Line 5 for each Case at the graduated basis and multiply each 
Premium Amount by the appropriate Tax Rate to determine the Tax Amount.  

 

For example: 
 If Total Delaware Taxable Premium Amount (Line 4) is $10,000,000 or less: 

Multiply amount by 2% 
 If Total Delaware Taxable Premium Amount (Line 4) is $10,000,001 to $24,999,999: 
  2%  x  first $10,000,000 plus 
  1.5%   x  $10,000,001 to $24,999,999 
 If Total Delaware Taxable Premium Amount (Line 4) is $25,000,000 to $99,999,999:  
  2%  x  first $10,000,000 plus 
  1.5%   x  $10,000,001 to $24,999,999 plus 
  1.25%  x  $25,000,000 to $99,999,999 
 If Total Delaware Taxable Premium Amount (Line 4) is $100,000,000 or higher: 
  2%  x  first $10,000,000 plus 
  1.5%   x  $10,000,001 to $24,999,999 plus 
  1.25%  x  $25,000,000 to $99,999,999 plus 
                          1.0%  x  $100,000,000 and higher 

 

NOTE:  THE PREMIUM TAX RATE SHALL BE CALCULATED ON THE BASIS OF NET PREMIUMS (UPON WHICH TAXES ARE PAYABLE TO 
DELAWARE) RECEIVED PER CASE FOR THE CALENDAR YEAR, EXCEPT THAT IN SUBSEQUENT CALENDAR YEARS THE PREMIUM TAX 
RATE SHALL NOT BE HIGHER THAN THE RATE ESTABLISHED FOR THE NEXT PRECEDING YEAR. (See example in 18 Del. C., §702 (c)(2)) 
   

 
 

PREPARER CHECKLIST 
 

Please use this checklist to assure that all required items are included in this calendar year 2007 Premium Tax and Fees filing. 
  

[      ] Signatures of President and Secretary (or other responsible company officer) and company seal affixed on Affidavit. 
[      ] Signature of Notary Public and notary seal affixed on Affidavit. 
[      ] Pages 1 through 4 of the report completely filled out. (Include Page 5 ONLY if reporting Employer/Trust Owned Life 

Insurance premiums) 
[      ] Notice of Guaranty Fund Credits OR Certificate(s) of Contribution for Guaranty Fund Assessments included. 
[      ] Copy of Delaware Business page (State Page) of the 2007 Annual Statement attached. 
[      ] Copy of Schedule T of the 2007 Annual Statement attached. 
[      ] Evidence of participation in certified Department of Transportation Travelink Program if claiming credit on Page 1, 

Line 16. 
  

DOMESTIC COMPANIES CLAIMING EMPLOYEE SERVICES CREDIT ON FORM T-2 (only): 
  

[      ] Form W-3 or year-end payroll reports included. 
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Original Report   
   

Amended Report   
 

FOREIGN 
 

STATE OF DELAWARE DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
PREMIUM TAX AND FEES REPORT 

FOR THE CALENDAR YEAR 2007, DUE MARCH 1, 2008 
 

TAX DEPARTMENT MAILING ADDRESS AND COMPANY INFORMATION 

 

Company Name:   Federal E.I.N. #:   
Premium Tax Contact Person:   N.A.I.C. #:  
Contact E-mail:   N.A.I.C. Group #:  
Tax Dept. Phone and Ext.:   Fax:   State of Domicile (abbr.):  
Tax Department Address:   
   

Has this Company written any Wet Marine 
and Transportation insurance in the United 
States in any of the past 3 years? (Check one) 

City – State – Country – Zip + 4:       Yes  No   
 

IMPORTANT:  If Company Name, Employer Identification Number (EIN), NAIC Number, NAIC Group, or any other Company Information changed during the year; you must complete the Historical Information Section on Page 4. 
 

Yes   If claiming overpayment on Line 20, Check this Box      $ Was payment for these taxes and/or fees sent 
electronically via ACH Credit? (Check one) 

No   IMPORTANT:  If claiming overpayment, DO NOT apply overpayment amount to 
quarterly tax liability.  The State of Delaware will issue a refund check to Company. 

Pay amount listed on Line 19.  
Make check payable to “Delaware Insurance Dept.” 

NOTE:  Authorization Agreement approval required for ACH Credit Option 
 

Form T-1                    PREMIUM TAX SUMMARY FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2007 

 

GROSS DIRECT PREMIUM INCOME Must equal data reported on State Business Page (Statutory Page 14) of Annual Statement  
1. Life Premiums  $ 1 

2. Accident and Health Premiums $    

2a. LESS: Medicare Title XVIII Premiums $ (                                          )    

2b. NET Taxable Accident and Health Premiums  $ 2 

3. Property, Casualty, Surety and Title Premiums  $ 3 

4. Worker’s Compensation / Employer’s Liability Premiums   $ 4 

5. TOTAL – All Gross Direct Premium Income  $ 5 

6. Premium Tax Rate (2%)  X .02 6 

7. TOTAL Premium Tax eligible for Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit  $ 7 

8. LESS: Life & Health Insurance Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit   $ (                                          ) 8 

9. LESS: Property & Casualty Insurance Guaranty Fund Assessment Credit   $ (                                          ) 9 

 IMPORTANT:   Guaranty Fund Credits may not reduce premium tax liability to less than zero.   
10. NET Premium Tax Due (Line 7 less Line 8 and/or Line 9)   Tax liability may not be < $0.00.  If less than “0”, enter “0”.  $ 10 

OTHER TAXES, FEES AND/OR CREDITS     

11. Domestic Insurer’s Privilege Tax   $       NOT APPLICABLE 11 

12. Foreign Insurer’s Retaliatory Tax and Fees   $ 12 

13. Employer/Trust Owned Life Insurance Premium Tax  $ 13 

14. Annual Continuation Fees (a) Certificate of Authority / Renewal Fee        (RRGs enter $50.00)  $                                  100.00 14 

  (b) Annual Statement Filing  $                                  100.00 14 

15. Delaware Insurance Fraud Prevention Bureau Annual Fee    (RRGs enter $0.00)   $                                  550.00 15 

16. Credit Due from Travelink Program  $ (                                          ) 16 

17. TOTAL Taxes, Fees and/or Credits Due   (Lines 10 thru 16)  $ 17 

18. LESS: Quarterly Tax Prepayments    
 a) April 15, 2007  $    

 b) June 15, 2007  $    

 c) September 15, 2007  $    

 d) December 15, 2007  $    

 e) TOTAL Prepaid during 2007  (Sum Lines 18a thru 18d)  $ (                                          ) 18 
 

19. NET AMOUNT DUE Attach payment for this amount.   $ 19 
 

20. REFUND 
IMPORTANT: A Refund Check will be sent to the Company. 
DO NOT apply this amount to future tax liability.                 $(                                         )  20 
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Company Name  EIN  NAIC #  
 

 

FOREIGN INSURERS’ RETALIATORY TAX AND FEES 
INSTRUCTIONS 

  

  

Lines 1-3 List types and volumes of taxable premiums of insurance written on risks in Delaware (as reported on Annual Statement State Page) at the applicable 
tax rate that your State of Domicile (Home State) would charge a Delaware domiciled insurer doing similar business in that state.  Different types of 
insurance with the same tax rate may be combined and listed on one line.  Include all finance and service charges.      
DO NOT INCLUDE EMPLOYER/TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE PREMIUM IN AMOUNTS LISTED ON LINES 1-3.  Employer/Trust Owned Life 
Insurance written in accordance with 18 Del. C., §2704(e) qualifies for exemption to retaliatory action as permitted in 18 Del. C., §532(b). 

  

Line 4 Workmen’s Compensation/Employer’s Liability premiums.   
Note: Workmen’s Compensation premiums MUST be recorded separately on Line 4 (not combined and listed with other insurance). 

  

Lines 5-8 List Home State annual fees as applicable.   
  

Line 9 List number of new agents appointed in DE during calendar year.  Multiply by Home State’s appointment fee (list fee amount). 
  

Lines 10-11 List any and all miscellaneous annual fees that a Delaware domiciled company, writing similar lines and volumes of business would be assessed on an 
annual basis in your Home State.  Please describe and list each fee type separately. 

  

Line 12 Home State Total – Sum Lines 1 through 11. 
  

Line 13 Delaware Net Premium Tax taken from Page 1, Premium Tax Summary, Line 7. 
  

Lines 14-15 Delaware annual Continuation Fees taken from Page 1, Premium Tax Summary, Lines 14(a) and (b).  DO NOT INCLUDE  $550.00 FRAUD FEE 
 

IMPORTANT: The Delaware Insurance Department considers the Fraud Prevention Bureau Fee to be a Special Purpose Assessment and does not 
allow the fee amount paid to the State to be included in retaliatory tax calculation. (See www.delawareinsurance.gov for more information) 
  

Line 16 Use the same number of new agents as listed in Line 9.  Multiply by $25.00 for Delaware basis calculation. 
  

Line 17 Delaware Total – Sum Lines 13 through 16.  Subtract this amount from the Home State Total amount on Line 12. 
  

Line 18 NET Retaliatory Tax due to Delaware.  Enter this amount on Page 1, Premium Tax Summary, Line 12.  If “0”, or less than “0”, enter “0”. 
 

Form T-3                                    RETALIATORY TAXES AND FEES 
TAX CALCULATION 

HOME STATE TAXES AND FEES              List State of Domicile (Home State):  
      

 TYPE OF INSURANCE PREMIUMS TAX RATE  AMOUNT  
 1.  $  @                % $   1 

 2.  $  @                % $   2 

 3.  $  @                % $   3 

4. Worker’s Compensation $  @                % $   4 

5. Certificate of Authority Renewal $   5 

6. Annual Statement Filing Fee $   6 

7. Annual Statement Abstract Fee $   7 

8. Annual Statement Publication Fee $   8 

 New Agent’s Initial Appointments in Delaware during calendar year:     

9. TOTAL # Agents   @ Home State Fee of  $   $   9 

10.  $   10 

11.  $   11 

12. HOME STATE TOTAL (Sum of Lines 1 through 11)  $  12 

LESS DELAWARE TAXES AND FEES 
13. Premium Tax $   13 

14. Certificate of Authority Renewal $   14 

15. Annual Statement Filing Fee $   15 

 New Agent’s Initial Appointments in Delaware during calendar year:    

16. TOTAL # Agents   @ Delaware Fee of  $ 25.00  $   16 

17. DELAWARE TOTAL (Sum of Lines 13 through 16) (–) $  17 

18. TOTAL Retaliatory Tax Amount Due (Line 12 minus Line 17) 
Enter this amount on Page 1, 

Premium Tax Summary, Line 12 $  18 
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REPORT OF GROSS PREMIUMS FOR 
STATE SUPPORT OF FIRE COMPANIES, AMBULANCE AND RESCUE ORGANIZATIONS 

     THIS IS NOT A TAX      
As with all forms in this tax report, the President and Secretary (or other responsible officers) verify its accuracy and completeness. 

 Every company receiving premiums for insurance coverage in Delaware under the property and casualty lines 
listed, must complete Part I and Part II of this report. (18 Del. C., §705(a)) 

 Every company receiving premiums for life, accident or health insurance coverage of all types in Delaware 
must complete Part III of this report. (18 Del. C., §713) 

 The State uses this information to determine the amount of financial support that volunteer fire companies and 
nonprofit ambulance and rescue services providers receive from the State. 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 
  

Form T-5  
PART I: Copy corresponding line number figures from State Page, [Exhibit Of Premiums And Losses (Statutory Page 14 Data)],  Column 2      
  

PART II: Each insurer MUST show what portion of the total gross direct premium listed in PART I is allocable to each of the four geographical sub-
divisions within the state of Delaware.  Allocations are to be determined by location of risk. 

  

Form T-6 Line 1: Enter corresponding Delaware figure from Schedule T, Column 2. 
 Line 2: Enter amount listed on Page 4, Form T-8 Summary Form, Line 3 
 Line 3: Enter corresponding Delaware figure from Schedule T, Column 4. 
 

 

Form T-5                             STATE SUPPORT OF FIRE COMPANIES 
          Based on Property and Casualty Premiums Written as Reported on State Page 

 

PART I GROSS DIRECT PREMIUMS, LESS RETURN PREMIUMS BY LINE OF AUTHORITY  
1. Fire  $ 1 

2.1. Allied Lines  $ 2.1 

2.2. Multiple Peril Crop  $ 2.2 

2.3. Federal Flood  $ 2.3 

3. Farmowners Multiple Peril  $ 3 

4. Homeowners Multiple Peril  $ 4 

5.1. Commercial Multiple Peril (non-liability portion)  $ 5.1 

8. Ocean Marine (other than Wet Marine & Transportation)  $ 8 

9. Inland Marine (other than Wet Marine & Transportation)  $ 9 

12. Earthquake  $ 12 

21.1. Private Passenger Auto Physical Damage  $ 21.1 

21.2. Commercial Auto Physical Damage  $ 21.2 

22. Aircraft (all perils)  $ 22 

   TOTAL  $ T 

PART II PREMIUM DISTRIBUTION BY LOCATION OF RISK 
City of Wilmington  $ W 

New Castle County (outside City of Wilmington)   $ NC 

Kent County  $ K 

Sussex County  $ S 

 PART I TOTAL MUST EQUAL PART II TOTAL  TOTAL  $ T 
 

 

Form T-6          STATE SUPPORT OF AMBULANCE AND RESCUE ORGANIZATIONS 
              Based on Life, Accident and Health Premiums Written as Reported on Schedule T 

 
  

ALL GROSS DIRECT PREMIUMS 
1. Life (Do Not include Annuities)  $ 1 

2. Employer/Trust Owned Life Insurance (Sum Total Delaware Premiums for all Cases)  $ 2 

3. Accident and Health  $ 3 

    TOTAL $ T 
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Form T-7                             TRAVELINK PROGRAM TAX CREDIT FORM  
See Title 30, Del. C., §2030 ET SEQ for details. 

 

As used in this section, TC is the amount of Tax Credit; CTG is the number of commuter trips generated, defined herein as the annualized number of 
employees reporting and departing from the place of employment during the peak travel periods; CTR is the number of commuter trip reductions, defined 
herein as the number of employees participating in a Delaware Department of Transportation Certified Travelink Program for at least 30 days of the 
applicable tax year; and DC is the employer’s allowable direct costs.  The credit granted under this law shall be the product of either equation described 
below; whichever is less.  Enter the amount from either Line 1 OR Line 2 on Page 1, Premium Tax Summary Form, Line 16. 
 

1. TC + (CTR/CTG) x DC     OR  $ 
2. TC + CTR x $250  $ 
 

EMPLOYER OWNED/TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE 
Form T-8 SUMMARY FORM 

 

Only companies writing this type of business as defined in 18 Del. C., §2704 should complete Form T-8 (see page 5.)  Complete Form T-8 for 
each case.  Sum the amounts from all cases for Lines 2, 5, and 6 on Form T-8 and transfer the total amounts from each Line to this Summary Form. 
    

1. TOTAL NUMBER OF CASES     
2. TOTAL PREMIUM AMOUNT (Sum Line 2 for all cases)  $ 
3. TOTAL DELAWARE PREMIUM AMOUNT (Sum Line 5 for all cases)             Enter this amount on Page 4, Part III, Line 2   $ 
4. TOTAL PREMIUM TAX DUE (Sum Line 6 from all cases)     Enter this amount on Page 1, Premium Tax Summary, Line 13   $ 
 

 

COMPANY HISTORICAL INFORMATION 
Complete All Applicable Sections ONLY If There Was A Change During Calendar Year 2007. 

 

1. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer received NEW authorization to do business in the State of Delaware. 
 

2. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer changed its STATE OF DOMICILE from the state of:  to the state of:   
 

3. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer changed its NAME from its former name of:    
 

4. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer changed its E.I.N. from:   to:   
      

5. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer changed its N.A.I.C. # from:  to:   
 

6. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer acquired Delaware business by way of (circle one) Merger or Assumption Agreement            
 with another Insurer known as  NAIC #:   

 

7. Effective          /        /       , the Insurer ceded essentially all Delaware business by way of (circle one) Merger or Assumption Agreement    
 with another Insurer known as  NAIC #:   And further 
 (Check one)  Remains an insurance corporation admitted in Delaware OR  Has surrendered its Delaware Certificate of Authority 
  

 

    ALL COMPANIES MUST COMPLETE THIS SECTION   
  

AFFIDAVIT In accordance with 18 Del. C., §702 (a), the Premium Tax and Fees Report shall be verified by the oath or affirmation of the 
president or secretary or other responsible officers of the Insurer, duly administered by a person authorized to administer oaths. 

 
STATE of ____________________________, COUNTY of _________________________________, on this ____________________ day of _____________________ 20_____, before me, 
 

 the subscriber, personally appeared __________________________________________  (PRESIDENT), and ____________________________________________  (SECRETARY) of the 
  

above named Insurer who being duly sworn (or affirmed) deposes and says that this report and all schedules are true, correct, and complete. 
 
 
    
Company Officer Signature   Title  

  
    
Company Officer Signature  Title (Company Seal) 

 

If signed by Company Officer other than President or Secretary, state reason:  
 

SWORN TO (OR AFFIRMED) AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME THE DAY AND YEAR AFORESAID. 
 

 
    

Signature (Notary Public)  Date Commission Expires (Notary Seal) 
 



 

State of Delaware Insurance Premium Tax and Fees Report – FOREIGN ANNUAL Page 5 of 5 

Company Name  EIN  NAIC #  
 

 

Form T-8                  EMPLOYER OWNED / TRUST OWNED LIFE INSURANCE 
(Also Known As “COLI” and/or “BOLI”, etc. Premiums) 

 

 

ANY COMPANY WRITING THIS TYPE OF BUSINESS AS DEFINED IN 18 Del. C., §2704 MUST COMPLETE THIS FORM 
 

   ALL OTHER COMPANIES — DO NOT RETURN THIS PAGE    
 

Complete this Form for each Employer/Trust Owned Life Insurance Case.  After completion, sum the amounts from Line 2, 
Line 5 and Line 6 for all cases and transfer the total amounts from each Line to the Form T-8 Summary Form on Page 4. 
If company has more cases, reproduce Form T-8 or use a similar format and attach additional pages as needed.   
     

 

1. Case Name:  Case #:    
2. Total Premium for this Case  $  
3. Net Premium for risks located in Delaware  $  

4. Net Premium for risks resident or located outside Delaware for which premium tax is not paid 
 to the State of residency or location.  $  

5. Total DELAWARE Premium Amount for Calendar Year   $  
 PREMIUM AMOUNT  TAX RATE  TAX AMOUNT  
TAX CALCULATION: $  @ 2% = $   

  $  @ 1.5% = $   
  $  @ 1.25% = $   
  $  @ 1% = $   

6. TOTAL Tax Due This Case   $  
 

 

1. Case Name:  Case #:   
2. Total Premium for this Case  $ 
3. Net Premium for risks located in Delaware  $ 

4. Net Premium for risks resident or located outside Delaware for which premium tax is not paid 
 to the State of residency or location.  $ 

5. Total DELAWARE Premium Amount for Calendar Year   $ 
 PREMIUM AMOUNT  TAX RATE  TAX AMOUNT  
TAX CALCULATION: $ @ 2% = $  

  $ @ 1.5% = $  
  $ @ 1.25% = $  
  $ @ 1% = $  

6. TOTAL Tax Due This Case   $ 
 

 

1. Case Name:  Case #:   
2. Total Premium for this Case  $ 
3. Net Premium for risks located in Delaware  $ 

4. Net Premium for risks resident or located outside Delaware for which premium tax is not paid 
 to the State of residency or location.  $ 

5. Total DELAWARE Premium Amount for Calendar Year   $ 
 PREMIUM AMOUNT  TAX RATE  TAX AMOUNT  
TAX CALCULATION: $ @ 2% = $  

  $ @ 1.5% = $  
  $ @ 1.25% = $  
  $ @ 1% = $  

6. TOTAL Tax Due This Case   $ 
 
 

  Each case must be reported.  This Form may be reproduced.  Attach additional pages as needed.   


